top of page

Teodolinda Caorlin

Teodolinda Caorlin is an artist that designs beautiful and haunting woven human forms. Caorlin is one of my favorite artists. I enjoy the way that Caorlin leaves the warp thread hanging transparently around the finish image. While some of the images are exquisitely beautiful others are haunting and filled with trapped emotions. Admittedly I don’t know a lot about Caorlin’s work other than the visual aesthetic. All of the articles that I have been able to find and even Caorlin’s own website are in a language that I do not at this time have the capacity to read. But for me the work transcends language and culture. To me weaving is an ancient art form that often gets forgotten by the fine arts community. Weaving is challenging to design and to work with. As a child I watched my mother do rudimentary forms of weaving to replace the seats in the chair I was fascinated by it. And the whole time that I was

growing up there was an abstract woven image that my mother made that hung on the wall that I would look at almost every day of my childhood. To me weaving is what must have been one of the oldest forms of art we had to make things so that we could survive. Nowadays most woven objects are created by machines even so they have to be designed by human minds. Weaving is a challenging skill to learn believe me I’ve been trying to teach myself just the rudimentary level. Teodolinda Caorlin to me as one of the finest Masters of the design of woven arts that I’ve ever seen. Caorlin’s artwork seem to breathe and have a life of their own even if they are frozen in the moment. I have never seen Caorlin’s artwork in person all I know of Teodolinda Caorlin I have learned from the Internet. Yet this single artist has managed to transform my ideas of what is possible. And therefore has changed my life and my artwork forever merely by existing.

Tags:

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page