top of page

Survivor

They say that I am strong because I'm still alive


But that's only because I tried to lay down and die but my body keeps making me live


It makes me eat even when I don't want to


It makes me fight it stay alive no matter how ill I get


I keep going and trying even when I have real disabilities that make it hard to live in this Society and even harder to find work and feel productive


Not being ashamed or trying to hide is brave or to some a lie


But it is just a fact


If I don't care what other people think I look like that's brave or tirable


People say that people that survived natural disasters or live through Wars are lucky and strong


They are so brave


But I think that if they are anything like me


They just kept going


My body makes me


I have wanted to die so many times


And even made plans to kill myself


But I'll probably live to be over a 100


I don't have a choice


I have to just keep going


I don't think survivors are stronger than anyone else


I think like me they just keep going because they don't have a choice


Like mine their bodies won't let them give up and die


Having a reason to live is wonderful


Having friends and work that you love really does make people's lives better


But surviving and staying alive is often just hard slogging work


Surviving just means that you keep going


You don't have to be strong, special, or smart


Just rest and find joy when you can and keep going



Comentarii


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page