top of page

Smart-ass

I don't get to cause not to think.


I don't get to trun off my mind.


I don't get to choose not to remember the bad things.


I can't pretend to be stupid to make other people feel super or better.


I find it really hard to lie about anything.


I can not pretend to be less than I am or ever be anything other than who I am.


I can't be what people seem to need me to be.


I find a lot of things really hard and at times impossible.


I don't think that it should be I should have to make myself smaller for other people. They don't stop talking about reading, writing, or mathematics because it makes me feel bad.


No one ever cares if I feel bad. It seems to be because I'm not "normal".


I might not be able to stop myself from thinking but I can't make myself good enough a reading, writing, or mathematics and I have no concept of time or spatial awareness so I get lost all the time.


But I'm not allowed to be better than anyone at anything. And God forbid I be proud of myself for how hard I've had to work and all the things that I have accomplished.


How dare I be smart in any way, I have learning disabilities.


I don't demand that other people make them so small for me. So why do people think it's okay to do to anyone?


Is it because I'm autistic and have different expectations of people.


Being smart is not an act of heartless cruelty it is a compilation of useful skills or information.


Truthful factual Information is a useful gift.



Comentarios


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page