top of page

The Boarding House

I live in a boarding house


It's a big house with lots of rooms


Some Lodgers come and go and others stay for a long time


My mother owns and runs the house


We have one room that's always empty


It has things in it


It's a traveling musicians things


He's a blind man that I rarely ever see


But he showed up today


Mom said he used to come through town regularly but it's become more famous and wasn't coming through small towns like ours as often anymore


He told mom he finally made enough money and bought his own house


So you he could take his things that he had been leaving in the room and the room could be rented out to someone else


He's funny and clever and charismatic


I think my mom likes having performers like musicians staying


They do the same to brighten up the place and everyone seems more lively and entertained by them


There's not much to do in our tiny town out here in the Sticks


Other than work and read books


That is what books you can get your hands on


Trade borrow or buy books or precious Commodities out here


Sometimes one of the borders will read out stories


We always look forward to the Christmas season when we read out the same stories every time like the Night Before Christmas and sometimes there will be an exciting new story by Charles Dickens or Louisa May Alcott or maybe even Mark Twain or LM Montgomery


Put on all like to read out their books sometimes they keep them to themselves and everyone sits quietly while people smoke and Whittle and so in the common room


We all get together and eat and if there is any news we share it


Some of the borders are really talkative While others barely say a word Messier neat they all seem to be a bit different


I mainly clean up people's rooms while they're away at work and help cook and clean the common room


Mama says I need to focus on my education even though I'm grown I still struggle with things that small children can seem to do sometimes


My sister said that we were treated like slaves barely paid it all for the work we did and she couldn't wait to get married and get out of here


But to me it's home and the only life I have ever known


We might live in a tiny muddytown out in the middle of nowhere


But it's still home to me



Comments


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page