top of page

Do autistic kids ever get to be seen as children

Do autistic kids ever get to be seen as children? Why wouldn't we get to be seen as children?


I know I was a child but most of the people around me didn't seem to think I was because I was smart in away that other children weren't. Even my dad and most of my siblings. I am the youngest of 6 that I grew up with but people didn't think I needed help or should be cared for other than my mother.


When most of my siblings saw anyone treating me like a child they would sort of become enraged by it. As if I was not allowed to be one. They often acted as if I was a monster that only looked like a child.


I ended up cleaning up after my older siblings in my teens and taking care of their kids.


I think it's because my autism overrides my ADD most of the time. So I'm better at doing necessary but boring tasks and really hate leaving tasks unfinished.


I don't think most of my family even remembered they hadn't finished some they started.


When I think of all the times the milk went bad because no one could remember to put it back on the refrigerator but me.


But we all have skills and deficits. 🤷‍♀️


They are all better at reading, writing, Mathematics, and music then me.


The bad thing about people not thinking you are a child is that your actions must be deliberate and anything that happens to you is your own fault somehow.


I was a child, just an autistic one. I was smarter in some ways but I trusted people in my family. That was not good.


I was a child and played and sang and dance like children do. I just did it on my own most of the time. I always acted like a child I just didn't think the way they thought a child should.


I always knew it but I never understood it.


I often ran around pretending I was a fairy queen or an archaeologist or wildlife photographer. I hated wearing shoes and skipped everywhere.


So I still can't understand why anyone wouldn't see me as a child. It's was probably just to justify their cruelty towards me. They would never say or do that to a child so I couldn't be one to them. But I was never in any doubt at any point that I was one. But I did sometimes think I knew more than I did about many things but that's pretty common for children to do as well. 🤷‍♀️



コメント


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page