top of page

Why diversity is important to me even though I’m white.

Why diversity is important to me even though I’m white. ~ by Alice Mae Abbott Because above all else what I really love is a good story. Stories about a more diverse people create more interesting stories as well as showing new perspectives and ways of thinking. Whenever you see the story through the eyes of someone else that breaks down the barriers between us as separate groups and reminds us of our common humanity. And above all else these stories are new to the broader world. If they are from groups of people that had previously been suppressed or ignored within the cultures broader narrative then it cannot help but be groundbreaking and original. Diversity in the arts is essential for it to flourish. Art cannot live in a vacuum it would suffocate. We live in a diverse world and art should reflect that diversity. Some good shows I have found are Timewasters, Cockroaches, Queers, Boy Meets Girl, Luther, My Jihad 2014, My Mad Fat Diary, Atypical, Cristela, Devious Maids, The Mindy Project, Welcome to Sweden, Transparent, The Good Doctor, Growing Up Fisher, Stella, Sunny D, The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency, Vicious, The Get Down. I learned new things with these stories. This is all I could think of for now, but I would love for this list to be longer so if you have more to add pleases do. Most of these are comedies cause that’s mostly what I watch.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page