top of page

disability in historical novels

I was thinking about disability in books I mostly read or accurately listening (most of the time) to books like Romance, Humor, and Cozy Mysteries, most often it has seems like only bad or unable to understand right from wrong and never the main character. People are staring to make them in the past 10 years or so they are starting to make books set in Contemporary times like people have only had the disabilities when they start to diagnosed. I can only remember 3 authors that have had them most often it's anxiety depression and schizophrenia same author she has been writing them for about 20 years but the new ones have been 1 autism and 1 with a learning disability. I'm sure there have be more but I haven't come across them but being ill all the time it's more difficult for me to find new authors and books I can focus on.

And in Cozy Mysteries (Contemporary) people that are weird and/or loners are bad people or we should all feel sad for them, how could anyone be happy without kids or a life partner they must be crazy and dangerous. OMG I must be more likely to kill and/or hurt people cause I don't have those things. Don't get me wrong I want a life partner but and feel sad at times about it but it doesn't make me dangerous it's not why I have depression and having some one wouldn't make it go away. Those things aren't magic and people that have them aren't less dangerous because of it.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page