top of page

Romance novels I'm having some problems as I'v gotten older

Ok so I know I read way to meany romance novels they are happy for the most part and ezyer to read I like that you get to feel loved in away.

But since I'v been getting more and more ill I have to cover my eyes and/or sit in the dark because of the light and sound hurting me and that makes me more emotionally unstable and I can't think clearly so I listen to books a lot of the time I can't fallow ones that are to complex or distressing story lines.

I have never really minded simple stories I have always like ones based Fairy Tales ect. But I am starting to have some problems with a lot of the books I'm having some problems as I'v gotten older I find with them mostly it's;

I find the 10 year + age difference a bit uncomfortable at the bast of times but but when the girl (or boy I'v never seen it but could be) is under 25 I just seems really fucked up to me. I know that I'm weird and don't really understand a lot of things but it just feels vary sexual predatory. It doesn't even have to say what age they are. A 40 year old man going after an 18 year old girl or him even being just being willing to go out with an 18 year old makes me so ill.

I get that over coming obstacles makes for a better story lines but some of the forbidden love things like age and incest are literally harmful in real life almost always leaving people mentally and emotionally damaged in so many ways. Often people don't even understand all the different ways that it has affected them.

Sorry I had to do the really disturbing one first.

Mister and/or Miss Perfect.

Mister Perfect

A man having sex with any woman he wants all the time. He is so good looking and he has all the money (power) and all the sex and it goes on and on and on about it. He is a useless shallow person that falls in love the first time a woman says no to him.

I have been all different kinds of poor for most of my life because of the learning disability thing I often have had to rely on generosity of people around me and being poor and having ADS is hard cause you can't always control what you can and can't eat so there has been times I had to sleep/lay down because I didn't have enough food or the right foods to stay awake and moving. But I have never be so poor and hungry that, that kind of man would look any way good to me in anywayway at all.

Miss Perfect

Happens way more in moves and tv cause romance novels are made for woman but it's what we have been told we should want to be so some woman dream of being her. Really good looking but doesn't know it. It says she smart but it never really shows it. Wants to fix you take care of you. She is an empty vessel ready to be filled whatever he wants or needs. Someone that always needs saving.

Don't get me wrong I like that she's kind and caring but it's always better if she doesn't care that she's good looking cause it shouldn't matter that much as long as they don't go on and on about it. She needs some substance.

They both need a personality, wants, needs, hopes, dreams, we are all human first.

It's ok to do a little just saying that a person is good looking or has money or something but they don't have to keep beating a dead horse.

If you'r a writer I know that Mister and/or Miss Perfect is ezy to fall into cause it's a cultural ideals that "we should all be trying to live" IDK why we should be doing that one. If I ever get around to really writing a story I will likely fall in to my own version of it.

These are just my opinions.

I am ill most of the time and don't intact with people that much so good books are really important to me right now.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page