top of page

I finally got around to watching BlacKkKlansman (2018) as the new year 2020 came in

I finally got around to watching BlacKkKlansman (2018) as the new year 2020 came in. I wasn't really thinking about it being new years tell it was like 10ms tell.

I have always been afraid the KKK (The Ku Klux Klan) and other white supremacist groups.

I growing up I we had an Adopt-a-Highway program, the very similar Sponsor-a-Highway, are promotional campaigns undertaken by U.S. states to encourage volunteers to keep a section of a highway free from litter, the group was allowed to have its name posted on a sign in the section of the highways they maintain, most of the ones I saw were groups from the air force bases I don't live that far from one and the military encourages community service in a lot of ways any way about 15ms from my house the other way there was a sign up for the KKK and I knew that about a 2 or 3 hours away in AR the head of the KKK David Ernest Duke (born July 1, 1950) lived for most of my childhood.

I know that a lot of people like to take guns around with them all the time. Most of the people in my family had guns as well. My father seemed to think like sleeping beauty should never touch a spinning needle I should never touch a gun or I would kill my family or something. I could have played with guns growing I know where they were and how to use them I just didn't really want to. My brother shot my sister with a BB gun but he was far enough away that it didn't hurt her much and he thought them gun safety. Any way I'm not that big a fan of guns. I think you can go hunting with a bow and arrow and be a lot less likely to kill yourself or other people by accident. I know it seems like I'm going off topic but I think it matters because people with guns does not make me feel safer and knowing that person with a gun might be a white supremacist matters a lot.

So as stupid as I know the idea of white supremacist is I know that but the fact is I know how real the things are that white supremacists have, are and will do. A big part of it here is Christians not all Christians are white supremacist but a big part of most religions is a kind of ethnocentrism because a big part of religion is culture. It doesn't seem to matter that Jesus was a jew and no part of any Protestant bibles takes place in Europe. If you don't see Jewish and/or middle eastern people as white then there are no white people in the bible other them the Romans.

Back to the movie.

I learn about history it one of my "special interest" one of the ways I relax some times is to learn new things, so I know about a lot of the bigger history parts it showed. It showed part of and talked about Gone with the Wind (1939).

As always I hadn't thought about it that much cause I hadn't had to. Just like the confederate flag tell I talked to a black friend about it.

I never really liked Gone with the Wind (1939) that much I didn't really identify with any of the characters other then Mammy - House Servant (I got that off IMDB it should be House slave WTF) played by Hattie McDaniel I have always been a fan of hers.

Her characters always seemed to be working and was so full of life and never seem timid, they seemed powerful to me. They always seemed to be speaking their mind and often the only one that could really see what was going on. I looked up to her. Thinking back on it she always talked to and took care of children so that likely had something to do with it. So when they talked about her as Mammy in Gone with the Wind (1939) confused me. I feel like all people seem to see is that she was playing a slave that smiled there for that must = she is happy to be a slave. I have been so poor that I was half-starved and smiled that didn't make me happy to be poor and hungry despite it not because of it.

By the end of the movie I get so tired of Scarlett and every one.

I really hate the USA's civil war. The founding fathers know slavery was wrong. My ancestors owned people and became traders to their own country to try and keep that so called right. I know it's good that I have to remember but why do people feel the need to do reenactments of it ect. It makes me feel ill.

I really liked BlacKkKlansman (2018) Spike Lee always finds ways to entertainer move and educate me.

At the end he showed video from the Charlottesville protest The "Unite the Right rally" a white supremacist and neo-Nazi rally that was conducted in Charlottesville, Virginia, from August 11 to 12, 2017. When car was deliberately driven into a crowd of people who had been peacefully protesting the Unite the Right rally in Charlottesville, Virginia, killing Heather Heyer and injuring 28. The driver of the car, 20-year-old James Alex Fields Jr., had driven from Ohio to attend the rally.

It brought all of the overwhelming feelings I felt at the time it happened I watched a documentary about the new neo-Nazis at it called Documenting Hate: Charlottesville on PBS. I remember it was so hot and the man in it saying "I don't go anywhere without a gun. I don't feel safe without one".

Watching The Prince of Egypt after it kind of fucked with my head. Again I wasn't really thinking about tell after I started watching it.

PS

Gone with the Wind (1939) had great costumes

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page