top of page

Coming out as having a disability ASD

I have a learning disability and some years ago I started to just tell every body, so that if some one has one, or might one day have a kid that has one ect. they'd know it was ok and didn't have to stop them from learning. Someone once told me I should't tell people cause I didn't seem like I had one and I told her that why I'm telling you so you know we are here even if you can't tell.

I think the same should go with ASD.

That people don't know can help them learn about how different we all are and that you can't tell by looking at us. And as we still don't know a lot about ASD we keep learning new things all the time.

It's really hard to be yourself, ask for help, or understanding, if you have to hide it all the time.

Some of the people in my family are still like "your just an asshole". But I have find the problem so you can do something to help fix it the best you can. I don't think most problem go a way just cause you act like you can't see it. But it could be that they don't want to have to feel bad for all the times I told them that something hurt and told me I didn't or to get over it.

I had a problem with my dad saying I didn't have a learning disability then when I was about 21 I found out my dad had a learning disability too not as bad as mine but I was 9 when I found out I had a learning disability.

I was mad at him for letting me feel like I was the only one. He didn't want to believe I had one and he thought I'd blame him cause I got it from him but I didn't care about that I cared about feeling alone and like no one around me could understand at all.

I don't want other people to have to feel that way. I want them to be able to learn, understand and ask for help, or understanding, if you have to hide it all the time you will end up living a life that hurts more then it has to.

I think that someone opening up to people about any thing is for them tell but if me telling them makes them feel more ok with themselves or have a person they can talk to that good.

I'm not as open about my ASD it's only been like 2 years or so that I was tested I had 1 years before that I had learn enough to know I likely had it.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page