top of page

Gift

I think apon the world you see


And apon all I know of it and me


My life and all the history and mythology


And I think of the gift that is me


And all that I am and could have been


But my life is hard and my body has failed me


But I am here and have many things others would love


That I know I shall miss one day


I think about all the name less people that have come before me


They must have been gifts to this world too


But a lot of them must also have gotten sidetracked by survival and limited by disabilities too


So if I don't seem to make a lasting mark on the world


Then I am in good company


I think most of the people that have ever lived have worked as hard as they could to stay alive


for as long as they could


and be as comfortable as they could loving and crying and laughing


So I don't lack ambition


I would never wish to be Achilles having my story echo down throughout the generations


However being Homer wouldn't be so bad


And I am not even that unfortunate


I am doing the best I can


And living life the way most people have


Not doing much or leaving much behind


So what if I don't write or make things that matter


I am here and that matters


Even if all I leave behind me is a few laughs and some tears


Life always matters


And every person does have so much potential even if they can't always fulfill it



Comments


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page