top of page

Comedy writing? And history

I as a student of history and a autistic person find comedy both confusing and fascinating.


I often don't connect with my own culture and my own era that I live in. Because my attention is not focused on the same things that other people naturally focus on I often do not interpret things the same way that other people do.


I can understand things well enough to laugh at them but not to make such jokes.


A lot of Comedy it's sort of of its moment in a way that I don't think that drama is. What we laugh at is affected by our culture and the time in which we live. And most things are always fluctuating within that context in a way that someone might be getting revenge or sad or lots of other more serious emotions might not be as affected by it.


Or perhaps it is mainly that comedy is more deeply intertwined with knowing things that would have seemed to be common knowledge to everyone that lived in that time and place.


I really value comedy

It really does make my life bearable in a way that I cannot possibly fully Express or articulate to other people.


Comedy has the power to make unbearable things bearable.


I wish so much that I could write comedy to be able to give others the sort of joy that others have given me.


I am aware of that I am an out of touch autistic person which makes expressing comedy in a way that others can understand incredibly difficult.


Because in order to make people laugh you have to understand what their expectations will be and then give them something that they're not expecting.


I'm so far removed from people's expectations and what Society considers to be normal that I don't think that I can fully understand it well enough in order to play with people's expectations.


I keep telling myself that I should just focus on entertaining myself as I'm sure that there are other autistic people out there that might find something written in that fashion to be entertaining. But I haven't figured out something sufficiently inspirational to attempt to write something playful or amusing.


I will continue to try to contemplate it and perhaps one day I will produce something that I think is sufficiently amusing to entertain others with.


I keep trying to learn about comedy writing and being humorous. But for dominantly all it says is to create a pattern and then break that pattern to exaggerate something comedically to play with people's expectations of something or to create a satirical version of something which I have attempted before but other people do not seem to understand when I attempting satire.


I don't know if I will ever write anything sufficiently humorous to make other people laugh. I sometimes think of it as an endless quest uncertain of the direction I should be traveling in or even where my end destination will be.


But I suppose that's what all creativity and art is setting out for an unknown destination and learning as you go.


Here's hoping that one day I will be able to write foolish humorous Little Things that might entertain someone other than myself.



Not right now of course

I don't feel good

my head hurts


Comments


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page