top of page

Dealing with stress when you're autistic

Trying to deal with stress when you're on the autism spectrum.



I find that trying to lessen my sensory input whenever I'm stressed out can be helpful.


So sitting in low light or even in the dark have an ear plugs or noise canceling headphones on.


Doing repetitive things can help too like rewatching your favorite TV shows reading your favorite books or replaying your favorite video games.


Even repetitive activities like knitting or crocheting. It's like a replacement for stemming since many of us were taught to feel uncomfortable about physical stimming actions. I often have verbal stimming where I make repetitive sounds. You can stand because you're excited or because you're anxious. I've always thought of it as having Access Energy in my body that I needed to get rid of. My hands needed to be busy, my body needs to make sounds.


Doing the same thing and having a routine can also lessen stress because you don't have to think about what you have to do I always thought of it as running on autopilot.


Thinking about what makes things feel harder for you and what you have the power to change.


We aren't all the same so just find what works for you right now. And if it stops working stop doing it.


Like you may enjoy more sensory input in some ways whenever you're stressed out.


I often feel the fabric of my clothing whenever I'm extremely stressed out.

I know that other people in my family prefer loud music but it has the opposite effect for me.


A lot of autistic people have a comfort food they tend to eat a lot of when they're stressed out.


I have more than one be I think that's because I might have ADD. So I kind of have a wheel of things that I like that rotates around. Only occasionally do things get added or taken away. It can be quite complicated to need something most familiar and repetitive but also stimulating enough.


I often really love really long book series or television shows because they're all in the same world with the same characters so it's like I'm watching or reading the same world but also getting new stories and stimulation at the same time.


I find repetitive tropes and story lines comforting. I like that the hero Saves the Day, the killer gets caught, and everyone lives happily ever after. I get that other people find that boring and predictable but for me these kinds of stories are absolutely necessary in times of stress and upheaval I especially need them.


It's the little things that matter to me. In stories and in life taking the time to try to enjoy in a little pleasure and you can and try to lessen any minor annoyances that might contribute to your stress.


And like all people laughing and crying is a stress relief.

I happen to prefer laughter so I often use comedic shows as a stress relief other people enjoy watching a sad movies and crying.

Whether it's laughter or crying they are both good for your body and produce chemicals in your brain that are good for you. Crying is a natural pain reliever but laughter reduces tension and stress in your body and it also sends positive chemicals in your brain and you burn calories when you're doing it. I don't really think that laughter is the best medicine for everything but it doesn't hurt. That is unless you laugh so hard it's painful.




Sorry if this was unhelpful it's just what I have learned so far.

Comentarios


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page