top of page

Funny old words and phrases one

Funny turns of phrases that I Love In classical literature



I'm fascinated by the way that the meanings of words change Through Time and distance



A perfectly innocent phrase from a time not long ago


Can today make someone like me have a little chuckle



I am of course aware of the original meanings of the phrases and words

But that doesn't stop me from feeling light-hearted and having a little chuckle whenever I hear them



Like the great Jane Austen talking about social intercourse


A way of saying that someone needs to get out more and socialize with other people


But it always makes me think that people are having sexual intercourse and a sort of sociable way





The way Sherlock Holmes was always being knocked up by Watson


When Watson knocks on Holmes's door and wakes him up


It always makes me think Watson is always getting homes pregnant





I cannot recall a particular incident but I know that there are several more of these types of word growth and changes in Shakespearean plays as well


The thought of them perhaps were not quite as amusing us to stick in my mind




The thought doesn't last long but the lightness to my heart that it brings has longer lasting effects



Language is a funny thing

It can instantly put something in your mind

If words have more than one meaning or if they mean different things in different contexts

Then I do find that to be quite amusing and at times confusing



I find that knowing older meanings of words and using them that way often confuses people around me


But I am often not aware of how much the person that I'm talking to may or may not know about language and how it has been used previously



For instance I often use the word mad and it's older form of meaning someone that has some sort of a mental health issue rather than someone that is simply angry



Growing up a lot of the things that I watched and also books that I listen to used mad in both ways so to me it is Perfectly Natural to do so



Comentários


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page