top of page

If you have ASD you are most likely not the only one in your family that has it

You are most likely not the only one in your family that has ASD, they might be better at hiding it then you. My dad didn't tell me that he had learning disabilities until I was 22, I found out I had them when I was 9. Then after he told me about his he told me my great grandpa also had them too. I was really mad at him for a long time because I felt so alone growing up thinking I was the only one. I think my mom and my dad's dad have/had ASD but it like with learning disabilities is just a lot more noticeable in me. People with ASD seem to fit in better with stereotypes of law enforcement, education, clerical work, technical work, Technology, and the arts. My uncle has a son that they put in a home for people that have handicaps but he was put there as a child and people don't really talk about him. I don't even know what kind of handicap he has and I didn't find out about him until I was 18. I know that everyone in my family is ND but I don't know how many have ASD because a lot of autistic traits are just normalized by my family. NT's copy things people around them do so how is and is not NT isn't clear in my family. Don't get me wrong they all think there is something clearly wrong with me because I do not think and act like them, but not all autistic people are the same, I find it hard to stop talking but everyone in my family but my mom and me is quiet and they hate loud people. Everyone in my family has sensory processing disorder but we all have it in diffident ways, I hate going to loud concert, they love them, I learn best by listening to lectures but a lot of people in my family have auditory processing disorder that make learning that way hard. I have dyslexia but a lot of people in this group post things about having hyperlexia and not liking to talk. I don't 100% fit in any where, but I try to see the good in being diffident, I love learning, and am good at recognize patterns. I might not be good at thinking the way other people do but I am better at new ideas and seeing things they might not be able to see.

Comments


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page