top of page

Jewish people were not oppressed in the Middle Ages in Europe?

So I was watching this lecture series about Middle Ages in Europe



It's quite a dry lecture but history is my special interest and I'm on the autism Spectrum


I'm an atheist and I did notice that the lecturer sort of assumed that the person that would be watching the lecture would be a Christian which bothered me


They started talking about the Crusades which I'm not very interested in so I was kind of doing something else


I'm far more interested in the cultural history and the day-to-day activities and interactions that poor or Merchant class people would have then Warfare or kings and queens


Not being a Christian I kind of find the Crusades a bit disgusting and unnecessary


As my family is Christian I did make a considerable effort to attempt to learn about understand and believe in Christian teachings


So I read most of the Old Testament and I listen to the New Testament on audiobook I came to the conclusion that I quite like Jesus But ultimately I didn't feel any spiritual connection to the teachings


But frankly how Jesus's teachings and the pre-scientific history of the Jewish people from the Old Testament

how that then gets turned into the Crusades is mind boggling to me


But I was still kind of listening to this lecture they started talking about Jewish people and I'm quite interested in the interactions between Jews Christians and Muslims during different historical time periods


so I kind of started paying more attention


The lecturer started off by saying that Jews weren't persecuted


I know for a fact that they were during the Middle Ages. One of the kings of England exiled all of the Jews so their statement confused me


Even in the time of Shakespeare in the 1500s to call someone "a Jew" was an insult



Anyway the lecture went on to say after saying that the Jewish people were not persecuted


but they were denied access to jobs had to live in certain areas and a list of other things that are the very definition of people being oppressed



Like if that shit is not oppression then what the fuck is.


It sure as hell isn't freedom or equality.



I get that horrible things happen in history.

And they absolutely need to be taught to people.


But to use the words that it is not oppression and then to say a list of things that are the definition of Oppression


It's not like this person is a random YouTuber or some other person online this is a college lecture in medieval history


Recorded a few years ago but not that long ago for them to not know what the word oppression means


Like what the fuck were they thinking


It's not like the meaning of the word has changed significantly in the past few years


And the fact that other group of people may have had it worse does not justify downplaying the oppression of another group of people


Maybe I should stop learning about European history for a while


Maybe ancient China or Egypt



I prefer ancient civilizations anyway


Prehistoric if I can find it


Although that can come with a whole lot of baggage from the people presenting the evidence as well


Like most of the historians being Western Europeans and them assuming that the way they see the world is the way it have always been


I watched this one documentary where they were surprised that a prehistoric woman would have been capable of being nomadic


but most humans were at least partially nomadic at the time so I can't understand why they thought that women would be left behind


Well anyway totally off topic


but the lecture just made me so mad and genuinely confused about why someone would do that


I had to convey it and someway.


This is basically just a long rant about how Christians portray Jewish people in history with a little bit of ranting about sexism thrown in for free


When historians don't even recognize their own internalized xenophobia and sexism I just find it really frustrating



Comments


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page