top of page

Living half a life

Living half a life


A life that's full of worry and strife


But still I hold on to Little Pleasures


little hopes and dreams


Even though most have fallen away


For one reason or another

Many have been ripped asunder


I still find Little Pleasures in life


holding on to what I know one day I shall lose


Trying to do what little I can to fill in my life even with all the strife


I may never have the type of life that even I'd have wished for


And others may find me strange and even a little deranged to be okay with all the things that have passed me by


But to me though my life is hard and perhaps half lived


I tried to hold on to what I value most


For the life is a struggle


And really hard at times


I would not trade my life for yours


Or anyone's at all


Nor would I give it all away the things and people I love


And without them I would not be free I simply would not be me


As hard as that can be at times and all the things about myself that I can't seem to be able to control


Wounds upon my soul that continue to reopen


And all the hateful words that too my loved ones I have spoken


I am me and that matters


If history was a pond I doubt I'd leave ripples when I was gone


But I will struggle on


Because I have learned that I am not defined by how productive I am


Or if I have done all of the things Society thinks I should to have a good life


I don't have to be sexually attractive


And the world doesn't have to like me


It doesn't matter who I've been


What matters is who I am


So on I shell struggle to live


I must find joys in the life that I do live


I may never be the person I thought I'd be


But in the end that's not so bad


I thought that I would be busy so that I could be worth something


But having my disabilities worsen has slowed me down and made me see


That no one's worthless


not even me



Commenti


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page