top of page

Making biscuits?

I can't understand why people call cats kneading "making biscuits" or "making muffins"



You do not knead biscuit dough or muffin batter



I could understand if it was making bread as that does require a great deal of kneading



kneading seems to me comes from the way that kittens nurse



That's a lot like a human sucking their thumbs



So I don't really see why the action seems mysterious to people



The person or people that have made up this turn of phrase must not cook



If you did need biscuit dough or muffin better that way

they would be incredibly tough and unable eat them


whole point with biscuits and muffins is to try not to knead or mix them too much or have hot hands



When I was in baking class

I had difficulties because I have hot hands and have a tendency to be too vigorous when mixing things



I appreciate that it is a flight of fancy and it's not meant to be taken seriously



However logically it does not make sense and therefore I have difficulty with it




Comments


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page