top of page

Patterns

I have always known that I am better than most people at seeing patterns



A big part of it is to avoid or at least manage risk or unexpected or unwelcome surprises

I experience a lot of distress whenever there is on expected changes that happen even if they are minor


Apparently a lot of autistic people have this ability



I study history as well so that I can try to be aware of unexpected events that may be Beyond My Control like climate change, Wars Etc




At times other people perceive this ability to be somewhat paranormal



Especially since I often try to warn people if I think something might affect them personally




But I have to constantly remind myself the correlation doesn't equal causation



Just because something happens at the same time doesn't mean that they're linked

And a lot of things are just random and meaningless




So that I don't go off on meaningless pattern connections that aren't really there and start believing some Daft things




I tried to primarily focus on things that might matter or impact me or someone that I care about life or the environment as that affects everyone

but I suppose that I do care about most people so if it could infect anyone and I would care



For me telling someone or warning them that something might happen

isn't me cursing them, me wanting them to worry or feel afraid

but rather a warning that they might want to protect themselves in some way

even if I'm not aware of a way that they can




Apparently this is a problem that a lot of autistic people have

Some people start thinking that we can predict the future or have control over it or something



I can only tell that something might happen because of what has happened before



And I sure as hell can't tell someone what to do with their lives



There are lots of things I can't understand and I don't really understand why it should be my job anyway



Seeing patterns seems to be a survival skill for some people or perhaps a coping mechanism



One of my favorite authors Jayne Ann Krentz use this pattern finding skill as a paranormal power in her Arcane Society Series romantic novels

She has also observed in her novels that there is a thin line between it being a valuable skill and descending into conspiracy theories and a kind of Madness



A lot of things aren't patterns and are just random


I tried to ground myself it observable facts, Science and History

Always learning more about the changing hypothesis is in theories

And trying to take everything into account



PS

There is also a book about autism called

The Pattern Seekers: How Autism Drives Human Invention

By Simon Baron-Cohen


That I have not read yet

Because living inside autism

I'd long for connection and support rather than the pressure to do anything beyond what I am.

I don't think I should have to "Drives Human Invention" to validate my existence so that people are more willing to tolerate me



Comments


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page