top of page

People being patronizing after you tell them your autistic

People being patronizing after you tell them your autistic.


It happens when you have an invisible disabilities. I grow up knowing I had learning disabilities, I can't read, write, or do math well, but I'm smart and good at talking so most people don't know until I tell them. I try to let people get to know me before I tell them then they might act patronizing for a time, but then I remind them I still the same person, and most of the time they forget I have disabilities until the next time I talk about it. You might also get people asking you things like before I know I was autistic a person I met at College told me they were autistic I remember saying "cool" (because I have invisible disabilities so having one isn't a big deal to me) I did ask "oh, do you have a problem with eye contact? I'll try to remember not to look you in the eye.". They told me no one had ever said that before then we talked about the kinds of things people had said and the kinds of stereotypes they had to deal with. A lot of people are really uncomfortable being around disabled people of any kind. I feel a little uncomfortable being around blind people a think it's because a lot of my masking is done with my body. But if you are around anyone with most disabilities for long enough you get over it and get used to it and you see them as a person not as a disability.

Comments


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page