top of page

People that claim to represent the First Nations peoples even though they do not appear to be online

People that claim to represent the First Nations peoples even though they do not appear to be online


A lot of people do just lie about it


some people have been told a lie by someone in their family


some people are part and don't look like, it like Snoop Dogg. (I don't have the time or the energy to go into all the people that may or may not look like a First Nations people but are)


And then there is the way sadder and more complicated situation of people that are but are disconnected culturally and that is often been deliberate and systematically done by the dominant culture or the government.


There are a lot of reasons why someone might choose to disconnect themselves from their own culture. I'm not going to go into all that, all of those kinds of decisions are incredibly personal and not for someone else to decide for them.


When people talk about culture wars they're often discussing people that wish to destroy other people's cultural contributions to what they view as the dominant culture like different ethnic groups LGBTQ+ ect.


Basically people are trying to destroy any cultural voice or opinions other than their own.


They all seem to have this ones size fits all attitude about culture.


But cultures literally don't exist that way there have always been subcultures countercultures Etc. And cultures are constantly mixing and mingling and changing and evolving.

Every generation decides what is important and what needs to be passed down.


Sorry I often think about DNA as a part of but separate from culture.


As I got my DNA tested because my mom's obsessed with genealogy.

I can understand that I might have small amounts of First Nations people's DNA for North America and African DNA but I don't think that that gives me the right to speak for them as I do not share their lived experience or their cultural context in which they have been raised.


I belong to all sorts of cultures and subcultures but just because I possess tiny amounts of DNA does not give me the right to speak for a group of people. I often don't even feel like I can speak for the groups that fully an undeniably I do belong to.

This could be because I'm autistic.




And yes I do understand that all people are indigenous to somewhere. But it is a term that is commonly used in places that Europeans have colonized.

Yes I do know that other groups of people have colonized places.


I'm from the United States of America and I was thinking particularly of the British and the Americans treatment of First Nations people.

Comentários


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page