top of page

Praying mantis changes colors for the season


I found out today that praying mantises colors with the seasons


Oh that old bright green color is so out of fashion they're now sporting Brown camouflage


Resembling in fact rather large stick insect


I saw one crawling around on the roof of our porch


It's underbelly and legs still bright green in color


It used it's pincers to crawl about with


I've never had the occasion to observe this behavior before


As praying mantises and I are not well acquainted


It's eyes shined red reflecting the light


And they moved about in quite a queer way


It's diminutive size disguises it's predatory nature


Although I do worry for it safety


As there is quite a large garden spider that has made its web not far from where it was


All the other spiders on the porch seem to have disappeared as this one has grown fat


I do not know if it has grown fat from eating the other spiders or because it has chased them away and has all of the bugs attracted to the light to itself


Like most Garden spiders it is a large bright yellow and black spider


Every time I open the door it runs in fear either tuck its body up into itself or running off of its web so that it's not shaking from the closing doors vibrations


It doesn't matter how much I talk to it or say hello the spider will never know


Both The Spider and the mantis look at me as though in fear


Curious because it seems they think a person talking to them is queer indeed


I know that they are wild things and do not understand


But they are my allies


For they devour all those bugs who bug me


The world needs the bugs but I unfortunately do not wish to have them in the house


So having little friends and allies on the porch benefits them and me so I welcome them and say hello


As I do the dragonflies that eat the mosquitoes



They are not pets but I benefit from their existence and I welcome



Birds May eat bugs but they are awful loud too I'd rather have an insect on the porch


Like the Dapper little mantis with its graceful strike or a beautiful jeweled garden spider that weaves it's sparkling exquisitely formed web



This it's not a picture of the praying mantis that I saw for unfortunately I am not good at photography at least not on a phone so I found this picture online it looked the most like it to me


Comments


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page