top of page

The TV show taskmaster

The TV show taskmaster reminds me of what it was like to go to school having significant learning disabilities.


I would often have to do tasks that seem to have no purpose to me like writing down notes I couldn't read. I would listen to my instructions thoroughly attempt to do the task precisely as it was instructed Only to have completely misunderstood most of the time.


I was frequently judged and ridiculed for things that were beyond my control. I would occasionally do something that would be surprising and unexpectedly clever.


I think that I like the show taskmaster because I'm neurodivergent and It shows all the different ways people think and how sometimes the majority of people will sometimes have the same idea and they will all believe it is totally original to them and then at other times they will see no other way that it could have been done and yet they were the only one that thought to do with that way.


It demonstrates both the commonality of thought and the diversity of it. It is both comforting whenever everyone primarily does the same thing because it unifies us but it is also comforting whenever no one does the same thing because it celebrates diversity of thought even if it has failed to achieve the desired results.


I find the people that are earnestly trying to complete the tasks as relatable as I do the ones that are completely have lost interest in the tasks and are just phoning it in Because the tasks seemed so ridiculous.


When I was in school at different times I could be either.


The show is funny and fun But I also find it to be moving and at times profound which I don't think was the intended reaction.


It might be because I'm neurodivernt and on the autism spectrum and I feel like I have to do seemingly pointless things for no reasons I can't understand and am arbitrarily judged for it all the time.


Maybe I find them relatable because a lot of Neurodivergent people become comedians?



Comments


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page