top of page

Thinking about neurodivergence and hunter-gatherers societies

This is only what I've gathered from my own experiences and from being around people with the different conditions I'm diagnosed with autism but have yet to be diagnosed with ADHD but I'm fairly certain that I have it.


I do think that people with ADHD would probably make a really good hunter-gatherers as well as ancient soldiers.


You basically get to do whatever you feel like doing when you feel like doing it.

Of course you have to take into consideration the needs of whatever group you happened to be in.


However I do think that there are a lot of drawbacks for people that have autism in hunter-gatherer cultures for instance on often might not feel fear and situations but I need to feel fearing. And as a child far too often I just wandered off by myself and no one would know where I was at not even me because I get lost.


I think that people that are in nordivergent often think that prehistoric or hunter-gatherer societies would be easier for us to live in.


Because I have dyslexia one of my special interests is prehistoric history. I'm fascinated by the time in which I would not have been perceived as different or as less than others.


However now that I know that I have autism and that is a big part of why I get treated so differently. I think that I probably would have been ostracized regardless perhaps not as much or in the same ways.


I think that a lot of people think that in hunter-gatherer societies cultural expectations didn't exist but it very definitely did perhaps not in the same way that it does now.


We often feel the expectations placed on us by people or culture are used as weapons against us. You must do these things be this person or else Etc.


People often find countries or tribal cultures that have a kind of flexibility or Grace that their own culture Lacks.


Like the way the transgender people are treated

or the custom of not engaging in small talk with people that you don't know

or not touching people or standing close to them

and so on.


I think that we often cherry pick things that we View as butter or idealic and think that perhaps prehistoric hunter-gatherer societies or tribal societies are somehow better for us.


I think that this is somewhat simplistic View of historic peoples or even of modern people living in hunter-gatherer and tribal societies.


We as humanbeing make culture without even trying our brains function on a them versus us who's in the tribe and whose outside of it.


Because I obsessively learn about history cultures and people. Often delighting in the differences and comforted by the similarities.


Unfortunately I have a brain that looks for patterns, for good or bad.


In almost every culture if you do not act like a neurotypical human and know when you're supposed to do the things that your culture demands of you then you will be punished in one form one another.


If your culture is smaller than the people making the decisions might know you personally and therefore might understand that you have difficulties or they might punish you more harshly.


Humans have never been able to truly live on our own not in prehistoric times or modern ones. We fundamentally need each other to survive. Even if we don't want to.


Of course historically at times we have been able to decide our physical proximity to other human beings. Like I don't want to have to live too close or sleep too close to this person or that person.


But unfortunately for a lot of people that have autism our Destiny's as humans are inevitably intertwined with other humans.


As a child I often watch movies about these mythical Mountain Men and dreamed of growing up to be a hermit.


But ultimately humans seem to have been designed to struggle and Delight to live together.


Even other autistic people in neurodivergent people do not agree on either their life experiences or what they would and would not like the life to be. And that's fine we are after all individuals in a very extreme way.


So I can't honestly imagine that there was some magical time before culture that would have been better for us.


There might have been times when our sometimes practical sometimes bizarre skills would have been seen as more of an advantage and less of a burden.


But there would be major disadvantages but I think that a lot of people don't consider like he would have to learn all of your knowledge from other people and you would only have access to those people for some time short periods of time never knowing what is true and what is not.


No libraries or Google.

Most questions had no answers for you to learn for fun.

Because you didn't know how things worked you didn't know why they worked.

Most autistic people are better at noticing small details and figuring out patterns so we can amass knowledge but we aren't necessarily good at passing it on in a way that others can comprehend or remember.


No headphones or earplugs and and ask someone that lives in the country I'd like to say nature is fucking loud.


If you said the wrong thing to the wrong person they could just kill you.



Comments


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page