top of page

When I was a young'n

When I was a young'n


I smell the Earth

All the different kinds of Earth smells

And I could smell the rain before it ever came

And on hot sunny days I'd laid upon the grass

made Daisy chains with Clover blooms


I ran everywhere barefoot

Walking around the house or running through the woods


I'd raced my dog all across the land and if my dog ever fell behind I'd go and check on them


I'd laid in the sun with my cat and it would gently hit me with its paw no claws when I was being a bother


I would follow the paths the deer and rabbit had made through the dents brush and sharp Breyers of the Woods


I'd listen to the wind Roar through the trees and all the tweeting birds


I climb to the highest tree I could to get some peace and quiet


I jumped into rings of flowers dancing with the fairies


I walked along the roof of the barn

And hung from the rafters


I danced until the rain did come

I loved it when it stormed


And sing loud and the deepest parts of the Woods


I went on Great Adventures


And I played in the mud to keep cool


I tried to catch bugs and frogs and things with my bare hands not hurting them only catching them to let them go once more

I got bit and pinched a few times for my troubles though


I sing songs and made up worlds that only I could see


I had imaginary animal friends wolves an eagle and the Bear


I dug archaeological pits

And found some pork chop bones

And some old broken shells from the ocean that broke on the way home

And I found my older brother's toys that he'd buried or lost long ago

Each one I thought a great archaeological find had great meaning and historic significance


I would watch my cat and dog and pretend that I was narrating and filming a wildlife documentary about them

The cat was a far better subject as it would ignore me


I would conduct the music only I could hear


Back when i was a young'n I had a heart so full of wonder


I wonder where that's gone


And if it will ever wander back my way again


コメント


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page